"Mystic and anxious Breton, always captive of an interior dream, benevolent and inattentive, having nerves of oversensitive, the innocent cheerfulness of a child, the savage decency of a secular monk and the heat of a disciple of Leon Bloy..." for those who knew Paul Ladmirault, this portrait signed Emile Vuillermoz, depicts him exactly.

The work of Paul Ladmirault testifies to the fortunate and necessary fusion of the inspiration and the trade.
He knew all the price of serious musical studies.

 

 

Born in Nantes on december 8th, 1877, he makes his secondary education in his birthplace.Very quickly he posts a deep leaning for the music and enters to the Academy of Nantes where he unanimously obtains at 16 years old a first price of harmony.
The same year, he presents his first opera Gilles de Retz, in Nantes. The press shouts with the wonder "extraordinary musical event..." Le progrès de Nantes.
 
In 1899, he's 22 years old, he unanimously obtains at the Academy of Paris a first price of harmony, then he works the counterpoint and the fugue with Gédalge. He enters then in the class of Gabriel Fauré. In this class reigned a favourable atmosphere to the blooming of the virtue of artist who refuse any concession and flatness. Paul Ladmirault will never forget his Master nor his school-fellows: Ravel, Schmitt, Laparra, Aubert, Enesco...

It is then the Parisian years during which the young composer affirms an original and attaching talent, taking part with varied and personal productions in this marvellous and rich efflorescence of the French music of the beginning of the century.
 
 
In 1903, he is then 26 years old, the National Company of Music gives in the first hearing "Le Choeur des Âmes de la Forêt" whose Claude Debussy wrote about in Gil Blas "Le Chant des Âmes de la Forêt of Mr Ladmirault to which the dreaming and fine musical quality testifies to a true nature of artist..."
 
In 1905, it is the Suite Bretonne taken from his original opera Myrdhin (Merlin). Fauré and Ravel liked much this work which contributed to the reputation of the composer.
The brilliant Parisian career of Paul Ladmirault continues with Brocéliande au Matin played in Le Châtelet in 1909 directed by Gabriel Pierné. The reception is enthusiastic and one can read in Le Journal du Soir :
"...it is a very luminous symphonic poem of spring grace, of a great freshness of inspiration..."
 
Here comes the great storm of 1914-1918. Four terrible years during which the delicate nature of the composer is put up badly with the life of the poilus...
He nevertheless finds time to write a ballet "The Prêtresse de Korydwen" which will be played at the opera in 1925.
After this long absence, Paul Ladmirault returns in his family not aspiring for more than quietness and silence.
He knows that it will have the fate of the dreamers, it doesn't matter, nobody will prevent him from composing his own music.
 
In 1918, he is then 41 years old, he finishes the Roman de Tristan, stage music, for the play of Bédier and Artus. Created in 1919 in Nice, it will be repeated the same year in the Théâtre Sarah Bernhard. Success is complete, tells us Artus, and we hope that the Roman de Tristan will ensure glory to the composer. The press is not mistaken there: "the music of Paul Ladmirault expresses with as much passion as poetry all the suave beauty of the Celtic country. The following year the PASDELOUP concerts play for the first time the RHAPSODIE GAËLIQUE directed by Rhené BATHON.
In this work in five pieces, Paul Ladmirault lets burst his love for Brittany and his passion for the celtism.
 
In 1920, he is 43 years old, he's nominated as professor at the Academy of Nantes. The voice of the artist is not kept silent therefore; Untiring worker, he reconciles the requirements of professorship to the constraints of creation.
 
January 1932, Paul Ladmirault is 55 years old. The Symphonic orchestra of Paris directed by Eugène Bigot, plays "En Forêt". It is a triumph. The press is unanimous to regard this work as one of best of Paul Ladmirault.
At this point in time Paul Ladmirault turns to the chamber music, always in search of his ideal of clearness and concision: "Too many notes adds nothing ..."he said.


Popular Gaelic music has always seduced Paul Ladmirault, always in search of the original color of the Scottish music without never calling upon the folklore, around 1930 he composes his famous QUATUOR A CORDES. Three of the four movements are of popular inspiration served by a penetrating poetic direction. Only the Andante, composed in 1904 on the name of Fauré, is completely different. This quartet offers a very original example of the fortunate association between erudite art and popular music, where any music takes its source.
 
At 58 years old, during his holidays in KERBILI (56), he writes 7 pieces for piano LES MÉMOIRES D'UN ÂNE according to the Comtesse de Ségur.
A little later he dedicates to his friend ENESCO a very beautiful sonata for violin and piano, played at the National Company in 1934 by ENESCO himself: "All those who will play the remarkable sonata of Paul Ladmirault, Sylvain Pons says, will note that it sings and moves by the quality of its musical ideas and their implementation, without concession to any fashion". Among his colleagues in the Academy of Nantes, two large artists of talent : the violoncellist Robert Laffra and the clarinettist Victor Graf.
He dedicates a sonata to them : the famous sonata for violoncello and piano and that not less famous one for clarinet and piano. Composed in 1942, two years before his death this sonata for clarinet and piano is of a great limpidity of writing.
 
Although he was a convinced christian, animated of a major faith, Paul Ladmirault composed only one work of sacred music MESSE BREVE. This mass of a poignant sincerity was written at 60 years old for the ordination of his son Daniel. His last works were a quintet for wind instruments and piano, a modal imagination for violin and piano.
 
On the 30th of october, 1944, Paul Ladmirault died out in his old family residence of Kerbili, in Camoël, in Morbihan.
His disappearance like his life, did not make noise. The war in its nonsense condemned him to anonymity, but are we certain that it had not wished it this way ?

"Breton mystique et inquiet, toujours prisonnier d'un rêve intérieur, bienveillant et distrait, ayant des nerfs de sensitive, l'innocente gaieté d'un enfant, la pudeur farouche d'un moine séculier et l'ardeur d'un disciple de Léon Bloy..."pour ceux qui ont connu Paul Ladmirault, ce portrait signé Emile Vuillermoz, le dépeint exactement.

L'oeuvre de Paul Ladmirault témoigne de l'heureuse et nécessaire fusion de l'inspiration et du métier. 
Il savait tout le prix des études musicales sérieuses.

 

 

Né à Nantes le 8 décembre 1877, il fait ses études secondaires dans sa ville natale.Très vite il affiche un fort penchant pour la musique et entre au Conservatoire de Nantes où il obtient à 16 ans un premier prix d'harmonie à l'unanimité.
La même année, il présente son premier opéra Gilles de Retz, à Nantes. La presse crie au prodige "événement musical extraordinaire..." Le Progrès de Nantes.
 
En 1899, il a 22 ans, il obtient au Conservatoire de Paris un premier prix d'harmonie à l'unanimité, puis il travaille le contrepoint et la fugue avec Gédalge. Il entre alors dans la classe de Gabriel Fauré. Dans cette classe régnait une atmosphère propice à l'épanouissement de la vertu d'artiste qui refuse toute concession et platitude. Paul Ladmirault n'oubliera jamais son Maître ni ses condisciples : Ravel, Schmitt, Laparra, Aubert, Enesco,...

Ce sont alors les années parisiennes durant lesquelles le jeune compositeur affirme un talent original et attachant, participant par des productions variées et personnelles à cette merveilleuse et riche efflorescence de la musique française du début du siècle.

 

En 1903, il a alors 26 ans, la Société Nationale de Musique donne en première audition "Le Choeur des Âmes de la Forêt" dont Claude Debussy écrivit dans Gil Blas "Le Chant des Âmes de la Forêt de Monsieur Ladmirault dont la musicalité rêveuse et fine témoigne d'une vraie nature d'artiste ..."

 
En 1905, c'est la Suite Bretonne tirée de son opéra inédit Myrdhin (Merlin). Fauré et Ravel aimaient beaucoup cette oeuvre qui contribua à la réputation du compositeur.
La brillante carrière parisienne de Paul Ladmirault se poursuit par Brocéliande au Matin donnée au Châtelet en 1909 dirigé par Gabriel Pierné. L'accueil est enthousiasme et on peut lire dans Le Journal du Soir :

"...c'est un poème symphonique tout lumineux de grâce printanière, d'une grande fraîcheur d'inspiration ..."
 
Voici la grande tourmente de 1914-1918. Quatre terribles années durant lesquelles la nature délicate du compositeur s'accommode mal de la vie des poilus...
Il trouve quand même le temps d'écrire un ballet "La Prêtresse de Korydwen" qui sera donné à L'opéra en 1925.

Après cette longue absence, Paul Ladmirault revient dans sa famille n'aspirant plus qu'au calme et au silence.

Il sait qu'il aura le sort des rêveurs, qu'importe, personne ne l'empêchera de composer sa propre musique.
 
En 1918, il a alors 41 ans, il termine le Roman de Tristan, musique de scène, pour la pièce de Bédier et Artus. Créée en 1919 à Nice, elle sera reprise la même année au Théâtre Sarah Bernhard. Le succès est complet nous dit Artus, et nous espérons que le Roman d e Tristan assurera la gloire au compositeur. La presse ne s'y trompe pas : "La musique de Paul Ladmirault exprime avec autant de passion que de poésie toute la suave beauté du pays celte. "L'année suivante les concerts PASDELOUP
donnent en première audition la RHAPSODIE GAËLIQUE dirigée par Rhené BATHON.

Dans cette oeuvre en cinq parties,

Paul Ladmirault laisse éclater son amour pour la Bretagne et sa passion pour le celtisme.
 
En 1920, il a 43 ans, il est nommé professeur au Conservatoire de Nantes. La voix de l'artiste ne se tait pas pour autant ; Travailleur infatigable, il concilie les exigences du professorat aux contraintes de la création.
 

Janvier 1932, Paul Ladmirault a 55 ans. L'Orchestre Symphonique de Paris dirigé par Eugène Bigot, donne "En Forêt". C'est un triomphe. La presse est unanime à considérer cette oeuvre comme une des meilleurs de Paul Ladmirault.
C'est alors que Paul Ladmirault se tourne vers la musique de chambre, toujours à la recherche de son idéal de clarté et de concision : "Trop de notes n'ajoute rien..." disait-il.

La musique populaire gaélique a toujours séduit Paul Ladmirault, toujours à la recherche de la couleur originale de la musique écossaise sans jamais faire appel au folklore, vers 1930 il compose son fameux QUATUOR A CORDES. Trois des quatre mouvements sont d'inspiration populaire servie par un sens poétique pénétrant. Seul l'Andante, composé en 1904 sur le nom de Fauré, est complètement différent. Ce quatuor offre un exemple très original de l'heureuse association de l'art savant et de la musique populaire, là où toute musique prend sa source.

 
A 58 ans, pendant ses vacances à KERBILI (56), il écrit 7 pièces pour piano
LES MÉMOIRES D'UN ÂNE d'après la Comtesse de Ségur.

Un peu plus tard il dédie à son ami ENESCO une très belle sonate pour violon et piano, donnée à la Société Nationale en 1934 par ENESCO lui-même : "Tous ceux qui joueront la remarquable sonate de Paul Ladmirault, nous dit Sylvain Pons, constateront qu'elle chante et émeut par la qualité même de ses idées musicales et de leur mise en oeuvre, sans concession à aucune mode". Parmi ses collègues au Conservatoire de Nantes, deux grands artistes de talent : le violoncelliste Robert Laffra et le clarinettiste Victor Graf.

Il leur dédie une sonate : la célèbre sonate pour violoncelle et piano et celle non moins célèbre pour clarinette et piano. Composée  en 1942, deux ans avant sa mort cette sonate pour clarinette et piano est d'une grande limpidité d'écriture.
 
Bien que chrétien convaincu, animé d'une foi profonde, Paul Ladmirault ne composa qu'une oeuvre de musique sacrée MESSE BRÈVE. Cette messe d'une poignante sincérité fut écrite à 60 ans pour l'ordination de son fils Daniel. Ses dernières oeuvres furent un Quintette à vents et piano, une fantaisie modale pour violon et piano.
 
Le 30 octobre 1944, Paul Ladmirault s'éteignait dans sa vieille demeure familiale de Kerbili, à Camoël, dans le Morbihan.
Sa disparition comme sa vie, ne fit pas de bruit. La guerre dans son absurdité le condamnait à l'anonymat, mais sommes-nous certains qu'il ne l'eut pas souhaité ainsi ?